The Red Sun

Book One of the Legends of Orkney Series

2016 International Book Awards: Fiction: Young Adult Finalist
2015 USA Best Book Awards: Best Cover Design: Fiction
Winner 2015 USA Best Book Awards: Children’s Fiction, Winner

Sam Baron is about to get the shock of his life. First his substitute English teacher claims to have turned his old teacher into a lizard; then a strange dwarf named Rego arrives and claims Sam is from a magical realm called Orkney. When his friends are taken prisoner, it’s up to Sam to save them.

Sam embarks on a journey to Orkney through a stonefire to find his friends—but when he arrives, he discovers that an ancient curse has turned the sun a poisonous red and threatens to destroy the land. With only a young witch girl to guide him, Sam must choose: save his friends, or stop the red sun from consuming the land?

Drawing on Norse mythology, The Red Sun follows Sam’s journey to uncover the truth about his past—a journey during which he has to overcome the simmering anger inside of him, learn to channel his growing magical powers, and find a way to forgive the father who left him behind.

Author: Alane Adams

Publication Date: August 4, 2015

 

Description

2016 International Book Awards: Fiction: Young Adult Finalist
2015 USA Best Book Awards: Best Cover Design: Fiction, Winner
2015 USA Best Book Awards: Children’s Fiction, Winner
Beverly Hills Book Award: Best Juvenile Fiction, Winner
IBPA Benjamin Franklin Awards: Best New Voice Children’s/Young Adult, Silver Medal
Readers Favorite Awards Children Preteen: Silver Medal Winner

“This fast-moving adventure―the beginning of a trilogy―is sure to appease mythology fans who are outgrowing Percy Jackson’s antics and looking for darker, weightier storytelling. VERDICT: A great choice for middle school collections.”
School Library Journal

“Percy Jackson meets Norse mythology in this captivating and unique adventure.”
Foreword Reviews (4 stars out of 5)

The Red Sun: Legends of Orkney by Alane Adams is a book that will take children on a roller coaster ride of adventure and fantasy where whimsical and menacing creatures and witches will enthrall readers.”
―Readers’ Favorite (5 stars out of 5)

“This novel may appeal to young readers who have enjoyed other ‘chosen one’ fantasy stories: It moves along at a speedy clip, and preteens will likely identify with Sam’s anger and frustration with the world . . . it’s a high fantasy tale that maintains a quick pace…”
Kirkus Reviews

The Red Sun is a roller coaster ride of adventure, Norse mythology, magic and mayhem. Between Sam facing awesome villains in the magical realm of Orkney to teachers turning into lizards, I had the best time doing the voiceover for the audiobook. Don’t miss out on this terrific story!”
―Kara Brar, actor on Disney’s Jessie and Bunk’d

“Alane Adams is the brilliant mind behind the Legends of Orkney series . . . Adams’ knowledge of the Norse myths lends itself to an intricate story full of legend and mysticism . . . For Percy Jackson fans.”
―Hypable

“8 Middle Grade Books to Fall For During School Season”
―BuzzFeed

“Alane Adams weaves a rollicking tale of adventure, filled with magic and mayhem, in The Red Sun, first in the Legends of Orkney series. Adams combines elements of Norse mythology and Umatilla tradition to send her young protagonist, Sam, on a unique quest to find himself and to save the entire realm of Orkney in the process.”
Clarion

“Cool read for kids”
Middle Shelf Magazine

“A fast-paced adventure quest full of Norse mythology and spellbinding fun. Fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter will love The Red Sun.”
―Kristen Hunt, author of Blonde Eskimo

About the Author

Alane Adams is a children’s author, professor, and literacy advocate. She is the author of the Legends of Orkney fantasy mythology series for tweens; she also writes Early American picture books for young children. Adams lives in Southern California.

More Books by Alane Adams

Why Buying Direct Is Better

Learn More about Buying Direct