The Runaway Daughter

A Novel

“This is an astonishing novel, at once a glimpse into the mind of a brave and imaginative heroine and a dizzying, gritty, and shockingly real snapshot of Indian city life.”
-Sangu Mandanna, Author of The Lost Girl

Kamada lives in a world of magic. A world of gremlins, fairies and talking objects that shield her from a society where strange men act like they own the women walking down the street, and where her mother gives up her body in exchange for a life of luxury.

The dirty streets of Bombay do not feel like home to Kamada. She knows she does not belong, and her mother’s house feels like a prison. To escape, Kammy wants to leave India to go study in America. Only her magical friends and a neighboring family know that her wish is getting closer to becoming a reality every day.

Follow Kammy as she bucks tradition in her quest to pass the GRE and follow her dreams. Will she be able to leave the land of curries and rickshaws?

Publication Date: December 17, 2013

Categories: ,

Description

“This is an astonishing novel, at once a glimpse into the mind of a brave and imaginative heroine and a dizzying, gritty, and shockingly real snapshot of Indian city life. There is magic here, and ugliness, and the book’s triumph is in showing us how one unusual girl refuses to let the ugliness extinguish the magic.”
-Sangu Mandanna, Author of The Lost Girl

“Fans of The Kite Runner and Life of Pi will be riveted by Juliet Philip’s stunning novel about a girl coming of age in Bombay. Philip’s vivid descriptions will have readers visualizing Kamada’s journey every step of the way.”
– Kristin Bustamante, SheKnows.com

About the Author

Juliet Philip loves magic, faeries, and creating things. She believes in infusing each of her creations with all the positive energy that she can manifest. Some of the things she likes to make are books, drawings, magic, and connections with people and the universe. She leads a self-sustainable, simple (yet busy!) life and is so very excited to share her everyday magic with you all. The Runaway Daughter is her debut novel.

Why Buying Direct Is Better